IBPS PO 2018 | IBPS Clerk 2018 | IBPS RRB 2018 | SBI PO 2018 | BOB PO 2018 | SSC CGL 2018 | RPF Constable 2018 | RPF SI | RRB ALP 2018 | RRB Group D 2018

Now Subscribe for Free videos

Subscribe Now

Saturday, 28 October 2017

SSC Quiz : General Studies | 28 -10-17

mahendra Guru

Q1. The Arjuna Awards were instituted in the year

(A) 1963

(B) 1965

(C) 1961

(D) 1957


The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of ₹ 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Q2. The ‘Dronacharya Award’ is associated with

(A) Eminent Surgeons

(B) Famous Artists

(C) Sport Coaches

(D) Expert Engineers


Dronacharya Award is an award presented by the government of India for excellence in sports coaching. The award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of Rs.500,000.

Q3. Nobel Prizes are not given for which of the following fields?

(A) Physics

(B) Chemistry

(C) Peace

(D) Music


Six Nobel Prizes are awarded each year, one in each of the following categories: literature, physics, chemistry, peace, economics, and physiology & medicine.

Q4. The Pulitzer Prize is associated with which one of the following?

(A) Environmental protection

(B) Olympic Games

(C) Journalism

(D) Civil Aviation


The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.

Q5. For outstanding contribution to which one of the following fields is Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize given?

(A) Literature

(B) Science

(C) Performing Arts

(D) Social Service

Answer (B)

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (SSB) is a science award in India given annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, mathematics, medicine and Physics. The purpose of the prize is to recognize outstanding Indian work (according to the view of CSIR awarding committee) in science and technology.

Q6. Which of the following organisations gives the Kalinga Prize for popularising science?




(D) Ministry of Science and Technology

Answer (A)

The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is an award given by UNESCO for exceptional skill in presenting scientific ideas to lay people. It was created in 1952, following a donation from Biju Patnaik, Founder President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust in India.

Q7. Ramon Magsaysay awards are given in honors of former President of-

(A) Indonesia

(B) Thailand

(C) New Zealand

(D) Philippines


The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

Q8. Which of the following awards is also known as Alternative Nobel Prize?

(A) Pulitzer Prize

(B) Right Livelihood Award

(C) Booker Prize

(D) Ramon Magsaysay Award


The Right Livelihood Award was established in 1980 by German-Swedish philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull, and is presented annually in early December. it is promoted as an "Alternative Nobel Prize”.

Q9. Which is highest gallantry award for the personnel of armed forces in India?

(A) Vir Chakra

(B) Maha Vir Chakra

(C) Param Vir Chakra

(D) Kirti Chakra


Q10. Which of the following States confers the Kabir Samman, Kalidas Samman and Tansen Samman?

(A) Rajasthan

(B) Uttar Pradesh

(C) Bihar

(D) Madhya Pradesh

Answer (D)

Copyright © 2017-18 All Right Reserved Powered by Mahendra Educational Pvt . Ltd.